Google
 
home
features
classifieds
calendar
archives
about
links

 

Mike's
Boat
Indexes

 

Issues:

January
February
March
April
May
June
July
August
September

 

Advertise
on this site
Cover Story:

Making a "Terminal Trawler"

Why not buy a yacht and use it as a powerboat?

Monday, November 2, 2009

Shallow Water Salvage
We have all done it. We have dropped something in the drink while sailing. Rob puts a lot of thought into getting it back. It was his new GPS.

Friday, October 30, 2009

  • November Letters

  • Thursday, October 29, 2009

    The Atlantic with no compass and no watch!
    You might think them both silly. When you read of their experience and see what they were doing and why, you will be amazed.

    Wednesday, October 28, 2009

    The Texas 200: Ranger's Big Adventure
    It was blowing hard, he was on an oyster reef with his cut leg down a hole and he had to hold the boat. "Oyster reefs are evil".

    Tuesday, October 27, 2009

    Where the Winds Blow...
    body

    Monday, October 26, 2009

  • November Splash

  • Friday, October 23, 2009

    Periwinkle
    Ross discusses his favorite boat and explains the evolution of Periwinkle.

    Thursday, October 22, 2009

    Wooboto - Part 2
    This detailed account of the building of Wooboto ends with a great video of Voyager under sail.

    Wednesday, October 21, 2009

    Wooboto - Part 1
    The tidy build of a Michalak designed Wooboto is detailed here in a photo picture album. Part two appears tomorrow.

    Tuesday, October 20, 2009

  • November Reports

  • Monday, October 19, 2009

    The Voyage of Miss Cindy - Part One
    The 16' micro cruiser catamaran 'Miss Cindy' completes the last part of a seven month 4500 mile voyage from the Sea of Cortez in the Pacific and arrives in Cuba.

    Friday, October 16, 2009

    Texas 200 - Mike Monies' Story
    Dismasted, cold and wet, Mike was determined to finish. This is another fabulous story from the Texas 200.

    Thursday, October 15, 2009

    Half Hull Models - Part 3 - Making the Model
    The final part of the series on how to make a half model. Have a go!

    Wednesday, October 14, 2009

    Eco
    Here's a new design by Bernd Kohler. Eco is a low powered Cat cruiser.

    Tuesday, October 13, 2009

    From the Bearing Sea to a Searunner
    Stainless steel stays are tricky to install. Have you considered using rope? This is no ordinary rope.

    Monday, October 12, 2009
  • November Webwatch
  • Friday, October 9, 2009

    Texas 200 - Post Cruise
    Does dismasted, torn mainsail and sailing in the dark sound scary? This is one sailor in trouble.

    Thursday, October 8, 2009

    The "Hiawatha" Cedar Strip Canoe
    It started with receiving the wrong gift for Christmas many years ago. This finished cedar strip canoe is definitely a work of art.

    Wednesday, October 7, 2009

    Building Pathfinder - Part 8
    Pikake is named. Perry has not had such a grin on his face since his first Captaincy in a boat which his Dad and he built years ago, but not everything went smoothly.

    Tuesday, October 6, 2009

    The Messed up Messabout
    Here's a walk down the lighter side or is it the dark side. Paul Austin brings us a comical look at a messabout.

    Monday, October 5, 2009

    Making a "Terminal Trawler"
    Most yachts have great accommodations. Most powerboats are expensive. Why not buy a yacht and use it as a powerboat? Here's some choices.

    Friday, October 2, 2009

    Unicat 2.4
    Here's a new design from Brett Marine Design. The Unicat 2.4 is a multipurpose dinghy for use as a tender, fishing boat or general messing about on the water.

    Thursday, October 1, 2009

    Outdoor Winter Boat Storage
    We've all had problems covering out boats with tarps. Here's a nifty solution to the problem that keeps all those leaves and berries out.

    Wednesday, September 30, 2009
    Tuesday, September 29, 2009

    Could you get off that Island?
    This is a lot of fun. What would you take to get off an Island? Jackie asks our boatbuilding friends this very question.

    Monday, September 28, 2009

    Where the Winds Blow...
    This time we go from nautical art to model boats that are works of art in themselves. Mark Steele presents some real masterpieces in this issue.

    Friday, September 25, 2009

  • October Splash

  • Thursday, September 24, 2009

    Norseboat Travels the Arctic
    Royal Marines successfully navigate Northwest Passage in 17.5 ft. open boat.

    Wednesday, September 23, 2009

    The hand of the gods: The Florida 120
    The gods were the ace in the card hand. The day was set for the Florida 120 and the weather was good, but would the weather gods continue to be friendly?

    Tuesday, September 22, 2009

    Odin's Knot
    Odin's knot may be a bit of a stunt, but it is nice to know how to tie it. You never know when it will come in handy.

    Monday, September 21, 2009

  • October Reports

  • Friday, September 18, 2009

    Selway Fisher Baby Kate Build - Part Two
    This is part two of the build. Here the journey from plan, model to canoe is finished.

    Thursday, September 17, 2009

    Selway Fisher Baby Kate Build - Part One
    It's good for a beginner to start small. In terms of starts, this is a good one. The experienced among us might have a tip or two, but they might learn something themselves.

    Wednesday, September 16, 2009

    Sticks in Mud: Sea Pearl 21
    Tom has had a very humbling experience. He gained a damaged boat and spars, but he also gained a valuable lesson, which he shares in the hope that it will help us all.

    Tuesday, September 15, 2009

    Boats Way Too Fancy
    The boatbuilders sit for a chat. Someone raises the ugly issue that some boats are unnecessarily fancy. The discussion almost gets nasty, but a point is made.

    Monday, September 14, 2009

    Bootstrap in the Sounds
    This is a wonderful tale of a trip to Marlborough Sounds, NZ. Warning, this article may lead to serious daydreaming.

    Friday, September 11, 2009

    A Trip Dowm Memory Lane
    Have you built a boat, sold it, gave it away or otherwise moved on? Have you seen that boat later and checked up on it? Eric caught up with his boat 28 years after he said goodbye. Here is what he saw.

    Thursday, September 10, 2009
    Wednesday, September 9, 2009

    Homemade Weed Anchor
    Do you recall an article on weed anchors? Well Wilson and Christine proved that it was one of the best designs around and built one, with some changes.

    Tuesday, September 8, 2009

    Kayak+ and Kayak++
    Ken Simpson has a new design, which is a Kayak that can be powered and has a bimini.

    Monday, September 7, 2009

    Pride in Our Builds
    You built a boat and you're proud of it. While parked a person comes up and asks if you built it, as they usally do. We like that. It makes us feel good, but not always. Here's Paul Boyer.

    Friday, September 4, 2009

    Elle - A Personal Tribute to Phil Bolger
    Mike John, who maintains our Boat Indexes, has written an account of a project of his. He modified one of Phil Bolger's designs and came away with a new admiration for the man.

    Thursday, September 3, 2009

    Building Pathfinder - Part 7
    When you watch NCIS, do you wonder how Jethro gets the boat out of his basement? Well, this is how Perry Burton got his Pathfinder out of his basement - with a "Lil Magic Trick".

    Wednesday, September 2, 2009

    Museum Tall Ship Exhibits
    There is nothing like a museum tour to get me excited about boats all over again. I'll bet you are the same way. In his monthly column, Paul Austin talks about two of his favorites.

    Tuesday, September 1, 2009

    Tales of Terribly Tall Trailers and Widening With Welding - Part 2
    Can your believe that Rob Rohde-Szudy has been with us for four years? All you boat builders and do-it-yourselfers lift a glass to Rob's milestone. How about another four, Rob?

    Jim Michalak's Newsletter
    We are big fan's of Jim Michalak's designs and like to let you know when there is a new issue of his newsletter. His essays are always worth reading. 

    Monday, August 31, 2009
    Friday, August 28, 2009

    Sail Caledonia and the Goat Island Skiff
    Michael Storer will tell you that the Goat Island Skiff was not designed to be a raid boat, but Joost Engelen did not know that - or did not care. Here is his report on the Caledonia Raid.

    Thursday, August 27, 2009

    Half Hull Models - Part 2-Making Plans
    In the second part of Paul Esterle's series on making your own half hull models, he not only gives good sources for half hull plans but he shows you how to create plans for your own boat.

    Wednesday, August 26, 2009
    Tuesday, August 25, 2009

    Where The Wind Blows
    Mark Steele, our model sailboat `writer at large’ brings another collection of `little yacht’ news from here and there, often from surprising places.

    Monday, August 24, 2009

    Life on the Ocean Wave - A Kid's Point of View - Part 2
    In the second part of Cheree Bowdidges account of a childhood spent cruising with her parents aboard their yacht, she talks about her impressions of Indonesia, Malasia and Singapore.

    Friday, August 21, 2009

    I canít believe I ate half that bag of Ö !
    As soon as Paul and Bill Moffitt finished the inaugural Texas200 they were planning a similar event for the Outer Banks. Of course they invited brother Sean Moffitt who filed this report.

    Thursday, August 20, 2009
    Wednesday, August 19, 2009

    Crabby
    After a long hiatus, we have more poetry for those of you who like poetry. Tim Ferguson, after a particularly "interesting" cruise in a Cape Dory Typhoon, was moved to pen these lines.

    Tuesday, August 18, 2009

    Boat Trailer Rebuild Ad Nauseum
    I always like an article that is both entertaining and informative. Bob Thomas has given us just that in this tongue in cheek pictorial essay about fixing up old boat trailers.

    Monday, August 17, 2009

    Ella
    Gavin Atkin of Great Britain has produced another in his series of free plans for small boats. This one, named after his lovely daughter, is a 12 foot flattie rowboat designed stitch and glue.

    Saturday, August 15, 2009

    Jim Michalak's Newsletter
    We are big fan's of Jim Michalak's designs and like to let you know when there is a new issue of his newsletter. His essays are always worth reading. 

    Friday, August 14, 2009

    Trilars
    My friends Kenneth Purdy and his irrepressible wife, Maria (seen at left) have been regulars at Duckworks messabouts for years. Here is their latest project - Jim Michalak's Trilars.

    Thursday, August 13, 2009

    Boat Widows
    Jackie Monies has been a boat widow her entire married life. But considering today is her and Mike's 43 wedding anniversary, it must not have been too bad. Here is her story.

    Wednesday, August 12, 2009

    A Short summary of the Florida 120
    The Texas200 has spun off a handful of similar events around the country. The first I know of is Scott Widmier's Florida 120 which takes place around Pensacola. Here is Scott's report.

    Tuesday, August 11, 2009

    Sailing on a Latino in the Med
    I don't think we have ever had a report like this one. Bernd Kohler was invited to sail in a "fiesta" race among traditional Spanish lateen rigged fishing boats off the Mediteranian coast.

    Monday, August 10, 2009
    Friday, August 7, 2009

    Tall Ship
    Who doesn't like to dream about boats yet to be made? In his monthly column, Paul Austin takes you into his dream of building a not so tall ship - but with all the bells and whistles.

    Thursday, August 6, 2009

    An Ultralight Canoe
    Peter Tapolyai is a guy who puts his money where his mouth is. He has built several boats and each time he refines the design to come closer to his ideal. Will this be his last? Stay tuned.

    Wednesday, August 5, 2009

    Pete Stevenson
    Not everyone who builds a boat is moved to interview the designer. But Paul Boyer was and he explains his motives this way: "He's the Creator. Without Pete, I wouldn't have a boat."

    Tuesday, August 4, 2009

    The Story of the "Gimbled Stove"
    Last week, Ross Lillistone talked about avoiding "unreasonable boat desire". Now Harold Duffield takes on the same general subject but addresses it in a whole different way.

    Monday, August 3, 2009

    Tales of Terribly Tall Trailers and Widening With Welding
    Last month Rob Rohde-Szudy got us started with "Welding 101". Now we get to put those skills to work making that bargain second hand trailer fit the boat we just built.


      sails
      plans
      epoxy
      rope/line
      hardware
      canoe/Kayak
      sailmaking
      materials
      models
      media
      tools
      gear